Holiday Closing — BFSFCU will be closed on Thursday, November 23, 2017, and Friday, November 24, 2017 in observance of the Thanksgiving holiday.

Annual Meeting and Election

Nominations for the Board of Directors

The 71st Annual Meeting of the Credit Union will be held on Thursday, April 5, 2018. On that date, the terms of three members of the Board of Directors will expire. The election of Directors to fill these three positions is conducted online and by mail ballot and the results will be announced at the Annual Meeting.

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall conduct, direction, and stability of the Credit Union. It establishes policy and guides the organization’s growth. The Board meets monthly, as required by the Credit Union’s bylaws, and at more frequent intervals as necessary.

Credit Union members in good standing are eligible for nomination and election including those current Directors whose terms are expiring. Each Director position is for a three-year term. Candidates should possess sound judgment, a desire to serve, and a willingness to devote sufficient time to their duties.

Candidates are selected by the Nominating Committee or by petition. The Nominating Committee names at least one candidate for each position available. Members seeking nomination should review the Board Member Expectations document and complete the Request for Nomination form. Completed forms must be submitted via email to by close of business on Wednesday, November 22, 2017.

Prospective candidates who fail to file the Request for Nomination form by November 22, 2017 should seek nomination by petition. The deadline for nomination by petition is Monday, February 5, 2018. As dictated by the Credit Union’s bylaws, a minimum of 500 member signatures is required for nomination by petition.

Should you have any questions about what is expected from a Credit Union Board Member, please contact a member of the Nominating Committee at the contact information noted below:

  • Wolfram Anders, IFC: (202) 473-1875
  • Robert Powell, IMF: (202) 623-6932
  • Adam Shayne, IBRD: (202) 458-7966

All members will be informed about the Nominating Committee’s selections and the procedures required for nomination by petition.

The Secretary